Today, St Andrew’s Parish Church Cheadle Hulme continues to be a vital part of the community, serving the needs of the people in the Cheadle Hulme area for over 80 years.
St Andrews Prior to 1920s
St Andrew’s Parish Church Cheadle Hulme has a rich history dating back to the 1920s. The area where the church now stands was once farm land, but in the late 1920s, housing developments began to spring up.
In 1932, Queens Road School (now Oak Tree School) was opened, and at the same time, a Sunday School was started in one of the farms. Recognizing the need for a daughter church in the growing community, the rector and PCC of St. Mary’s Church, Cheadle, decided to build a new church. In 1937, the first St. Andrew’s building was dedicated on land given by Mrs J Porritt of Bruntwood Hall.
The New Building
As the congregation continued to grow, plans were made for a new larger church. Building started in 1958, and the new building was first used in May 1959. In 1993, the building was expanded and modernized to better serve the community.
Our Sister Church Emmanuel
In 1961, a Sunday School was set up in the Bruntwood area. Over time, this Sunday School expanded and in 1966, it became a separate church known as Emmanuel. In 2001, a new church building was opened to serve the people of Emmanuel.